With a view to extending the shipping branch a sizeable newbuild programme is launched in 1990, consisting of four ships of around 3,000 DWT with the highest Finnish Ice Class and suitable for transporting high volume goods. The ships are given the names "Flinterborg", "Balticborg", "Eemsborg" and "Bothniaborg". "Rijnborg" is added in 1991, followed four months later by the sister ship "Scheldeborg". These six vessels can also transport containers, marking the introduction of the standard container size TEU, which stands for Twenty feet Equivalent Units.

Share this page